Ray LaMontagne To Release New Album, God Willin’ & The Creek Don’t Rise On August 17th, 2010

Acclaimed recording artist Ray LaMontagne is set to release his new album, Ray LaMontagne & The Pariah Dogs – God Willin’ & The Creek Don’t Rise on August 17th, 2010 on RCA Records. This is his fourth studio record, and the follow-up to his heralded Gossip in the Grain.

Entirely self produced (for the first time) God Willin’ & the Creek Don’t Rise was recorded in two weeks at LaMontagne’s home in the woods of western Massachusetts. The newly restored historic home served as a homemade recording studio for Ray and his fellow musicians. The setting provided a backdrop for the creation of songs imbued with Ray’s signature poignancy. With Ray’s vocals at the forefront of the songs and a loose, almost live sounding recording, the album stands as a testament to a band at the height of their powers. The newly coined ‘Pariah Dogs’, consists of Jay Bellarose (drums), Jennifer Condos (bass), Patrick Warren (keyboard), Eric Heywood (guitar) and Greg Leisz (pedal steel guitar). Individually, these musicians have contributed to the live work of such heralded musicians including Beck, Joe Henry, Tom Waits, Lucinda Williams, Ryan Adams and Joe Cocker to name a few of their career highlights. Together with Ray, they shared a sense that the sessions for this record were rare and extraordinary.

Ray’s last album Gossip in the Grain debuted at #3 on the Billboard charts. He appeared on multiple television programs included a coveted spot on Saturday Night Live. Ray will hit the road with David Gray beginning August 15th and ending September 10th. During his last North American tour, Spin.com proclaimed Ray, “illustrated a near flawless transition from a front porch in Maine to the front of the most prestigious stage in the world (Radio City Music Hall).”

Track listing:

1. Repo Man

2. New York City’s Killing Me

3. God Willin’ & the Creek Don’t Rise

4. Beg Steal Or Borrow

5. Are We Really Through

6. This Love Is Over

7. Old Before Your Time

8. For The Summer

9. Like Rock & Roll and Radio

10. The Devil’s In The Jukebox

Published by Larry Fire

I write an eclectic pop culture blog called THE FIRE WIRE that features articles about books, comics, music, movies, television, gadgets, posters, toys & more!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: