The Very Very Best Of Crowded House Due On October 26th

19 of Crowded House’s top hits and fan favorites have been gathered for a new CD and digital collection to be released October 26 by Capitol/EMI.  Celebrating the Australian band’s 25th anniversary, The Very Very Best Of Crowded House features the hits “Don’t Dream It’s Over,” “Something So Strong,” “Better Be Home Soon” and other standout singles and album tracks.  For fans who want more, an expanded digital-only edition features 32 tracks and will also be available on October 26 for download purchase from all major digital service providers.

Originally consisting of New Zealander Neil Finn (vocals, guitar, keyboards) and two Australians, Paul Hester (drums) and Nick Seymour (bass), Crowded House was formed in Melbourne in 1985. The band’s self-titled debut, Crowded House was released in 1986 and reached #12 on Billboard’s Top 200 Albums chart, and its breakout single, “Don’t Dream It’s Over” rocketed to #2 on Billboard’s Hot 100 Singles chart and became a worldwide smash in 1987. “Something So Strong,” the album’s second single, reached #7 on Billboard’s Hot 100 and also cracked the Mainstream Rock Top 10.  1988’s Temple Of Low Men reached Billboard’s Top 50 and its single, “Better Be Home Soon,” reached the Mainstream Rock chart’s Top 20.

Neil Finn’s brother and former Split Enz bandmate Tim Finn joined Crowded House for the writing and recording of Woodface, the band’s third Top 100 album, released in 1991.  Tim Finn left the band later that year and was replaced by the American multi-instrumentalist Mark Hart, who became a permanent member. Crowded House founding member Paul Hester died in 2005; Matt Sherrod joined the band on drums.

The Very Very Best Of Crowded House (Available on CD, Digital)

1 Something So Strong

2 Weather With You

3 It’s Only Natural

4 Chocolate Cake

5 Fall At Your Feet

6 Distant Sun

7 Better Be Home Soon

8 Four Seasons In One Day

9 Don’t Dream It’s Over

10 Mean To Me

11 Locked out

12 Don’t Stop Now

13 Pineapple Head

14 Instinct

15 Fingers Of Love

16 Private Universe

17 Not The Girl You Think You Are

18 Nails In My Feet

19 Pour Le Monde

The Very Very Best Of Crowded House (Available Digital Only)

1 Now We’re Getting Somewhere

2 World Where You Live

3 Weather With You

4 Something So Strong

5 When You Come

6 Fingers Of Love

7 Four Seasons In One Day

8 Distant Sun

9 Don’t Stop Now

10 Sister Madly

11 Chocolate Cake

12 Locked Out

13 Never Be The Same

14 Hole In The River

15 Not The Girl You Think You Are

16 Better Be Home Soon

17 Mean To Me

18 It’s Only Natural

19 Fall At Your Feet

20 Recurring Dream

21 Private Universe

22 Pineapple Head

23 She Called Up

24 I Feel Possessed

25 Instinct

26 Everything Is Good For You

27 Into Temptation

28 Nails In My Feet

29 Don’t Dream It’s Over

30 Pour Le Monde

31 Whispers And Moans

32 Throw Your Arms Around Me (Live) The Roxy, Los Angeles February 26, 1987

Published by Larry Fire

I write an eclectic pop culture blog called THE FIRE WIRE that features articles about books, comics, music, movies, television, gadgets, posters, toys & more!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: