Brandi Carlile: Live At Benaroya Hall CD Review

Brandi Carlile – Live at Benaroya Hall with the Seattle Symphony, the new concert album from acclaimed American singer-songwriter-performer Brandi Carlile will be available on Tuesday, May 3.

Brandi’s passionate and powerful performance shines on this CD. Her band is tighter than ever, check out the twin’s harmonies on The Sound Of Silence. The lush orchestra provides a new depth not seen on earlier albums. Brandi is one of the most gifted singer-songwriters to emerge today and I urge all of you to give this disc a listen and pass it on to your friends and family. The world needs to be aware of this humble, kind and generous performer.

Culled from two incredible sold-out shows in November 2010 at the prestigious Seattle concert venue, Brandi Carlile – Live at Benaroya Hall with the Seattle Symphony features Brandi and her band — Tim Hanseroth (guitar), Phil Hanseroth (bass), Josh Neumann (cello) and Allison Miller (drums) — performing a finely drawn selection of original songs and well-chosen covers accompanied by a full thirty-piece orchestra.

Brandi Carlile – Live at Benaroya Hall with the Seattle Symphony showcases arrangements created for Brandi by Sean O’Loughlin (who’s worked with Chris Isaak, Feist, Belle & Sebastian, Blue Man Group, others) and the legendary Paul Buckmaster (Elton John, David Bowie-“Space Oddity,” Miles Davis-“On The Corner”).  Buckmaster, who won a Grammy in 2001 for his arrangements on Train’s “Drops of Jupiter,” first worked with Brandi in 2009 on Give Up The Ghost, her third studio album.

Brandi Carlile, winner of Seattle’s City of Music Breakthrough Award for 2010, sold-out her Benaroya debut in 2008.  Returning to the Hall for the first time last November, after touring more than a year in support of Give Up The Ghost, Carlile treated her fans to an expanded road-polished repertoire, performing an exquisite set-list of original compositions and covers including Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah,” Simon & Garfunkel’s “The Sound of Silence” and Elton John’s “Sixty Years On” (showcasing Brandi’s vocals within the original Paul Buckmaster arrangement), all included on Brandi Carlile – Live at Benaroya Hall with the Seattle Symphony.

Brandi Carlile: Live At Benaroya Hall With The Seattle Symphony is now available for pre-order on CD and vinyl at Brandi’s online store . Whether you are a long-time Brandi Carlile fan like me or a new listener, this is a perfect live performance to add to your collection.

Track Listing:

1. Curtain Call

2. Sixty Years On

3. Looking Out

4. Before It Breaks

5. I Will

6. Shadow On The Wall

7. Dreams

8. Turpentine

9. The Sound Of Silence

10. The Story

11. Pride & Joy

12. Hallelujah

Published by Larry Fire

I write an eclectic pop culture blog called THE FIRE WIRE that features articles about books, comics, music, movies, television, gadgets, posters, toys & more!

3 thoughts on “Brandi Carlile: Live At Benaroya Hall CD Review

    1. Gary, my wife and I are big fans of Brandi and have seen her live 3 times. She’s fantastic and I wish more people were aware of her. Such a huge talent and a very kind and humble performer. Her band is super tight. They sent me an advance copy of this CD and I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: