DC Black Label Expands 2019 Slate Adding Watchmen, The Killing Joke And Other Classic Tales To Its Roster

DC announced today that some of its most legendary stories will now be a part of the DC Black Label imprint. The recently launched publishing line, dedicated to giving premier writers and artists the ability to tell unique, standalone stories set outside DC continuity, will release several iconic comic book collections featuring the most famous DC heroes from the archives beginning this December through the end of 2019.

“The DC Black Label line will house the best and most evergreen stories from DC,” says DC Publisher Dan DiDio. “The company has a long history that includes some of the most recognizable and renowned storytelling in comics and we want to honor that history by putting them under one banner.”

The quintessential tales that first inspired the creation of the line include complex and emotionally engaging narratives with stunning visual storytelling from some of the greatest creators in the industry. The list of reprinted collections and their release dates through 2019 can be found below:

– All-Star Superman – Grant Morrison & Frank Quitely – available 12/04/2018
– DC: The New Frontier – Darwyn Cooke – available 2/19/2019
– Watchmen (Hardcover with new slipcase) – Alan Moore & Dave Gibbons – available 3/26/2019
– Kingdom Come – Mark Waid & Alex Ross – available 4/23/2019
– Ronin – Frank Miller & Lynn Varley – available 5/07/2019
– All-Star Batman & Robin, The Boy Wonder Vol. 1 – Frank Miller & Jim Lee – available 6/11/2019
– Batman: Year One – Frank Miller & David Mazzucchelli – available 6/11/2019
– Batman: The Dark Knight Strikes Again – Frank Miller – available 6/18/2019
– Batman: The Dark Knight Returns – Frank Miller & Klaus Janson – available 6/18/2019
– Batman: The Dark Knight: The Master Race – Frank Miller, Brian Azzarello, Andy Kubert & Klaus Janson – available 6/25/2019
– Luthor 10th Anniversary Edition – Brian Azzarello & Lee Bermejo—available 7/09/2019
– Joker 10th Anniversary Edition – Brian Azzarello & Lee Bermejo—available 7/09/2019
– Batman: Arkham Asylum – Grant Morrison & Dave McKean – available 8/13/2019
– The Joker: Deluxe Edition – Brian Azzarello & Lee Bermejo – available 9/10/2019
– Batman: The Killing Joke – Alan Moore & Brian Bolland – available 9/17/2019
– Watchmen (Trade Paperback) – Alan Moore & Dave Gibbons—available 9/24/2019
– Batman: Year 100 – Paul Pope—available 10/08/2019
– Superman: Red Son – Mark Millar, Dave Johnson, Andrew Robinson, Killian Plunkett & Walden Wong – available 10/22/2019
– Batman: The Long Halloween – Jeph Loeb & Tim Sale—11/05/2019
– Black Orchid – Neil Gaiman & Dave McKean—11/12/2019
– Batman: Dark Victory – Jeph Loeb & Tim Sale—11/26/2019
– Batman: Haunted Knight – Loeb & Sale—12/17/2019
– Catwoman: When In Rome – Jeph Loeb & Tim Sale—12/31/2019

These collected editions are in addition to new original content that was previously announced. To see more of what’s to come from DC Black Label, check out DCComics.com.

Published by Larry Fire

I write an eclectic pop culture blog called THE FIRE WIRE that features articles about books, comics, music, movies, television, gadgets, posters, toys & more!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: