Some Guys: The New Album From Jonathan Coulton

Jonathan Coulton announced his super secret project today.

The musician will release a new album called Some Guys and it is covers of 70s soft rock songs that sound exactly like the originals.

Coulton describes his connection to that era and genre of music:

“In the 70s, I was sensitive kid who liked soft rock (both of those things are still true). These were some of the first songs that I remember really connecting to. I was always pretty sure that this was not a thing that made me cool, but now that I’m in my late 40s, I feel like it’s safe to come out as a soft rock lover. (Hello, I’m Jonathan, and I like Dan Fogelberg.) Lately, I’ve been listening to this kind of music a lot, rediscovering all my old friends, and I couldn’t shake the idea that it would be a lot of fun to just kind of make them again. I didn’t want to do new versions, I wanted to just rebuild the originals from the ground up. I wanted to live inside these songs for a while. I can tell you it felt very warm and cozy in there.”

The album was produced by Solid State producer Christian Cassan. Most of the instruments are played by Cassan and Coulton, but they brought a few friends to accompany them.

Track Listing:

1. Sister Golden Hair – America
2. On and On – Stephen Bishop
3. Alone Again (Naturally) – Gilbert O’Sullivan
4. The Things We Do For Love – 10cc
5. Make It with You – Bread
6. New Kid In Town – Eagles
7. Baker Street – Gerry Rafferty
8. How Deep Is Your Love – Bee Gees
9. Easy – Commodores
10. Wildfire – Michael Murphey
11. Everybody’s Talkin’ – Harry Nilsson
12. If You Could Read My Mind – Gordon Lightfoot
13. Crazy Love – Poco
14. Same Old Lang Syne – Dan Fogelberg

The release date is tentatively scheduled for late March and you can pre-order the album in various formats on Kickstarter HERE.

Published by Larry Fire

I write an eclectic pop culture blog called THE FIRE WIRE that features articles about books, comics, music, movies, television, gadgets, posters, toys & more!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: