ZZ Top Announces Goin’ 50 – A New 50-Song Collection That Spans The Texas Trio’s Entire Recording Career 

ZZ Top are celebrating 50 years of beards, blues, hot cars, and fuzzy guitars this year with a new, Texas-sized compilation that includes the 50 songs that helped transform “that little ol’ band from Texas” into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame standard bearers they have become in the 21st century.

On August 16, Warner Bros. Records will release Goin’ 50 as both 3-CD ($29.98) and 180-gram, 5-LP ($99.98) sets. A single-CD version with 18 tracks as well as digital and streaming versions will also be available on June 14.

Goin’ 50 spans the band’s entire musical career, from its 1969 debut, and its multi-platinum zenith during the Eighties, to its most-recent releases. This new retrospective includes an array from each of the 15 studio albums that guitarist Billy Gibbons, drummer Frank Beard and bassist Dusty Hill have recorded since 1970. Two bonus tracks, “Salt Lick” and “Miller’s Farm” – a single and b-side respectively – were recorded in 1969 by the original incarnation of ZZ Top.

The first disc of Goin’ 50 focuses on the irresistible FM-radio hits that hooked the first generation of ZZ Top fans during the Seventies and early-Eighties with songs like “La Grange,” “Tush,” “Cheap Sunglasses,” “I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide,” and “Pearl Necklace.”

The additional disc explores the steady stream of hits the band released between 1983 and 1991 that made them international superstars, including six Top 40 tracks: “Gimme All Your Lovin’,” “Legs,” “Sleeping Bag,” “Stages,” “Rough Boy,” and “Velcro Fly.”

Goin’ 50 closes with a selection of songs recorded between 1992 and 2016 that find the band returning to its blues roots for fresh inspiration on tracks like “Pincushion,” “What’s Up With That,” “Rhythmeen,” and “I Gotsta Get Paid.” The set’s final two tracks – live versions of “Waitin’ For The Bus” and “Jesus Just Left Chicago” – are taken from the band’s most recent release, Live Greatest Hits from Around the World (2016).

Track Listing – 3CD/5LP

Disc One

1. La Grange
2. Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers
3. Tush
4. Salt Lick
5. Miller’s Farm
6. (Somebody Else Been) Shaking Your Tree
7. Francine
8. Heard It On The X
9. It’s Only Love
10. Arrested For Driving While Blind
11. Enjoy And Get It On
12. I Thank You
13. Cheap Sunglasses
14. I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide
15. Leila
16. Tube Snake Boogie
17. Pearl Necklace

Disc Two

1. Gimme All Your Lovin’
2. Got Me Under Pressure
3. Sharp Dressed Man
4. TV Dinners
5. Legs
6. Sleeping Bag
7. Can’t Stop Rockin’
8. Stages
9. Rough Boy
10. Delirious
11. Woke Up With Wood
12. Velcro Fly
13. Doubleback
14. Concrete And Steel
15. My Head’s In Mississippi
16. Give It Up
17. Decision Or Collision

Disc Three

1. Viva Las Vegas
2. Gun Love
3. Pincushion
4. Breakaway
5. Girl In A T-Shirt
6. Fuzzbox Voodoo
7. She’s Just Killing Me
8. What’s Up With That
9. Bang Bang
10. Rhythmeen
11. Fearless Boogie
12. 36-22-36
13. Piece
14. I Gotsta Get Paid
15. Waitin’ For The Bus (Live)
16. Jesus Just Left Chicago (Live)

Track Listing – 1-CD

1. La Grange
2. Sharp Dressed Man
3. Gimme All Your Lovin’
4. Tush
5. Cheap Sunglasses
6. I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide
7. Legs
8. Got Me Under Pressure
9. Rough Boy
10. Sleeping Bag
11. Velcro Fly
12. Doubleback
13. Viva Las Vegas
14. Pincushion
15. What’s Up With That
16. Fearless Boogie
17. Piece
18. I Gotsta Get Paid

Published by Larry Fire

I write an eclectic pop culture blog called THE FIRE WIRE that features articles about books, comics, music, movies, television, gadgets, posters, toys & more!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: