Netflix Announces Fear Street Trilogy

Netflix has officially released the first teaser trailer for Chernin Entertainment’s long-awaited film adaptations of R.L. Stine’s YA horror novel series Fear Street. The streamer has also confirmed the release dates for the upcoming trilogy, promising an epic summer movie event over three consecutive weeks this coming July. The Fear Street trilogy will kick off with Part 1: 1994 starting on July 2, and will then be followed by Part 2: 1978 on July 9, with Part 3: 1666 wrapping up the movie event on July 16.

“We filmed all three Fear Street movies over one crazy, bloody summer,” director Leigh Janiak said in a statement. “It’s a dream that audiences now get to experience the story in the same way – back to back to back, with only a week of waiting in between. I can’t wait to welcome everyone into the world of Fear Street in 1994, 1978, and 1666!”

“Fear Street fans are in for a treat–and some major surprises,” author R.L. Stine teased. “Readers know that the book series is rated PG. But the movies are rated R. That means a lot more thrills– and a lot more terror! I have seen Leigh Janiak’s epic trilogy releasing on Netflix in July and I can tell you the scares and the SCREAMS are more than I ever expected. What fun to see the horrors of Shadyside come to life!”

The Fear Street trilogy will be covering three different time periods, going all the way back to the 1600s. In 1994, a group of teenagers discovers that the terrifying events that have haunted their town for generations may all be connected – and that they may be the next targets. Based on R.L. Stine’s best-selling horror series, the trilogy follows the nightmare through Shadyside’s sinister history.

The synopses and casts for the three film adaptations are as follows:

Fear Street Part 1: 1994

In the aftermath of a brutal tragedy in Shadyside, Ohio, a group of teens discover that a series of horrifying events that have plagued their town over many years might not be random, and that they may be the next victims. The film was written by Janiak and Phil Graziadei.

The first part stars Kiana Madeira, Olivia Scott Welch, Benjamin Flores Jr., Julia Rehwald, Fred Hechinger, Ashley Zukerman, Maya Hawke, Darrell Britt-Gibson, Jordana Spiro, and Jordyn Dinatale.

Fear Street Part 2: 1978

Camp Nightwing is divided by the campers and counselors who hail from the of prosperous town of Sunnyvale and the campers and maintenance staffers from the downtrodden town of Shadyside, but when horrors from their towns shared history come alive, they must band together to solve a terrifying mystery before it’s too late. The film was written by Janiak and Zak Olkewicz.

The second part stars Sadie Sink, Emily Rudd, Ryan Simpkins, Mccabe Slye, Ted Sutherland, Jordana Spiro, Gillian Jacobs, Kiana Madeira, Benjamin Flores Jr., Ashley Zukerman, Olivia Scott Welch, Chiara Aurelia, and Jordyn Dinatale.

Fear Streat Part 3: 1666

a colonial town is gripped by a hysterical witch-hunt that has deadly consequences for centuries to come, and it’s up to teenagers in 1994 to try and finally put an end to their town’s curse, before it’s too late. The film was written by Janiak, Graziadei, and Kate Trefry.

The final part stars Kiana Madeira, Ashley Zukerman, Gillian Jacobs, Olivia Scott Welch, Benjamin Flores Jr., Darrell Britt-Gibson, Sadie Sink, Emily Rudd, Mccabe Slye, Julia Rehwald, Fred Hechinger, Jordana Spiro, Elizabeth Scopel, and Randy Havens.

Published by Larry Fire

I write an eclectic pop culture blog called THE FIRE WIRE that features articles about books, comics, music, movies, television, gadgets, posters, toys & more!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: