Life Moves Pretty Fast: The John Hughes Mixtapes

Demon Music group, in conjunction with the Hughes family, are proud to present the first official compilation of music from the movies of legendary filmmaker John Hughes, curated by Hughes’ music supervisor Tarquin Gotch, covering the classic eighties period 1983 – 1989.

The 74 tracks on the deluxe 4CD boxset feature music from Pretty In Pink, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, National Lampoon’s Vacation, Sixteen Candles, Weird Science, Some Kind of Wonderful, Planes, Trains And Automobiles, She’s Having A Baby, The Great Outdoors and Uncle Buck.

The films of John Hughes are some of the most iconic of the 1980s, and they have created a lasting cultural impact still felt and referenced across TV, film and music.

As well as the characters and stories created in the films, what made John Hughes’ movies different from the rest was the symbiotic relationship between what was happening on screen and music. Whether Cameron Frye staring at the painting in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off set to The Dream Academy’s “Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What”, Duckie and Andie from Pretty In Pink at prom set to Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark’s “If You Leave”, or Neal and Del’s classic “Those aren’t pillows” scene from Planes, Trains and Automobiles set to Emmylou Harris’ “Back In Baby’s Arms”.

John and his team revolutionized the way music was used in movies, commissioning artists such as Kate Bush (‘This Woman’s Work’ for ‘She’s Having A Baby’) and OMD (‘If You Leave’ for ‘Pretty In Pink) to write new song and giving bands such as Simple Minds & The Psychedelic Furs their biggest hits.

Life Moves Pretty Fast – The John Hughes Mixtapes, is released as a limited edition 4CD 74-track deluxe CD set also includes a 14-track cassette and re-issue of the 7” single “Beat City” / “I’m Afraid” originally distributed to the John Hughes fan club mailing list upon the release of Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. It is also available as a limited-edition RED vinyl 6LP boxset, a 25-track black vinyl 2LP version and a standard 4CD 74-track set.

All formats feature imagery of the tapes that John played on set as well as compilations that he made and exclusive interviews and memories from Matthew Broderick, James Hughes, Tarquin Gotch, Ron Payne as well as track-by-track sleeve notes.

Track Liting:


1. Kajagoogoo – Kajagoogoo (Instrumental)
2. Simple Minds – Don’t You (Forget About Me)
3. Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark – If You Leave
4. Oingo Boingo – Weird Science
5. Furniture – Brilliant Mind
6. Dave Wakeling – She’s Having A Baby
7. The Flowerpot Men – Beat City
8. The Psychedelic Furs – Pretty In Pink
9. Flesh For Lulu – I Go Crazy
10. Dr. Calculus – Full of Love
11. Lick The Tins – Can’t Help Falling In Love
12. Steve Earle & The Dukes – Six Days On The Road (Album Version)
13. Kirsty MacColl – You Just Haven’t Earned It Yet Baby (Soundtrack Version)
14. Suzanne Vega & Joe Jackson – Left of Center
15. Pete Shelley – Do Anything (Soundtrack Version)
16. Carmel – It’s All In The Game
17. The Dream Academy – Power To Believe (Instrumental)
18. Kate Bush – This Woman’s Work
19. New Order – Elegia


1. The Beat – March of The Swivelheads (Rotating Heads – Dub Version)
2. Nick Heyward – When It Started To Begin
3. Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark – Tesla Girls
4. Big Audio Dynamite – BAD
5. Killing Joke – Eighties
6. The Specials – Little Bitch
7. Gene Loves Jezebel – Desire (Come and Get It) (US Club Mix)
8. Flesh For Lulu – Slide
9. Love And Rockets – Haunted When The Minutes Drag
10. Sigue Sigue Sputnik – Love Missile F1-11 (Ultraviolence Mix)
11. Lords of The New Church – Method To My Madness
12. The Jesus And Mary Chain – The Hardest Walk (Single Version)
13. Echo & The Bunnymen – Bring On The Dancing Horses
14. General Public – Tenderness
15. The Blue Room – I’m Afraid
16. Belouis Some – Round, Round
17. Thompson Twins – If You Were Here
18. The Dream Academy – Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want (Instrumental) 3.07


1. Yello – Oh Yeah
2. Book Of Love – Modigliani (Lost In Your Eyes)
3. Otis Redding – Try A Little Tenderness
4. Patti Smith – Gloria: In Excelsis Deo
5. Westworld – Ba-Na-Na-Bam-Boo
6. Divinyls – Ring Me Up
7. Topper Headon – Drummin’ Man
8. Billy Idol – Catch My Fall
9. The Association – Cherish
10. Penguin Cafe Orchestra – Music For A Found Harmonium
11. Zapp – Radio People
12. The Blue Room – Cry Like This
13. Ray Charles – Mess Around
14. Joe Turner – Lipstick, Powder and Paint
15. Darlene Love – (Today I Met) The Boy I’m Gonna Marry
16. Marvin Gaye – How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
17. Perry Como With Mitchell Ayres And His Orchestra And The Ray Charles Singers – Juke Box Baby
18. The Chordettes – Mr. Sandman
19. Ray Anthony And His Orchestra – The Peter Gunn Theme


1. Lindsey Buckingham – Holiday Road
2. Emmylou Harris – Back in Baby’s Arms
3. Hugh Harris – Rhythm of Life
4. Spandau Ballet – True
5. Propaganda – Abuse – Here
6. The Dream Academy – The Edge of Forever
7. Yello – Lost Again (Album Version)
8. Bryan Ferry – Crazy Love
9. The Rave-Ups – Positively Lost Me
10. Los Lobos – Don’t Worry Baby
11. Steve Earle – Continental Trailways Blues (Album Version)
12. The Revillos – Rev Up!
13. Boston – More Than A Feeling
14. Balaam And The Angel – I’ll Show You Something Special
15. The Rave-Ups – Rave Up/Shut Up
16. Pop Will Eat Itself – Beaver Patrol
17. The Vapors – Turning Japanese
18. Silicon Teens – Red River Rock

Pre-order HERE. Life Moves Pretty Fast: The John Hughes Mixtapes will be released on November 11, 2022.

Published by Larry Fire

I write an eclectic pop culture blog called THE FIRE WIRE that features articles about books, comics, music, movies, television, gadgets, posters, toys & more!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: