Elton John’s Honky Château 50th Anniversary Reissue 2 CD Set

Honky Château, the album that brought us Rocket Man, celebrates its 50th anniversary with a brand-new CD!

Released in May 1972, Honky Château is the fifth studio album by Elton John, which includes singles “Rocket Man” and “Honky Cat.” Named after the eighteenth century Château d’Herouville outside Paris where it was recorded, this 50th anniversary edition contains the original album and a newly created selection of outtakes from the original session tapes. This 2CD format additionally contains eight live recordings from the Royal Festival Hall show in 1972, where the tracks receive their live debut, just a few days after being recorded at the Château. Includes an 40-page booklet containing rare photos, memorabilia and an essay featuring interviews from those who were there at the time.


CD 1

1. Honky Cat
2. Mellow
3. I Think I’m Going to Kill Myself
4. Susie (Dramas)
5. Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going To Be A Long, Long Time)
6. Salvation
7. Slave
8. Amy
9. Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters
10. Hercules

Honky At The Chateau (Session Demos) Part One

11. Salvation (Session Demo)
12. Susie (Dramas) (Session Demo)
13. Rocket Man (It’s Think It’s Going To Be A Long, Long Time) (Session Demo)
14. Mellow (Session Demo)
15. Slave – Alternate “Fast” Version (Session Demo)

CD 2

Honky At The Chateau (Session Demos) Part Two

1. Honky Cat (Session Demo)
2. I Think I’m Going To Kill Myself (Session Demo)
3. Hercules (Session Demo)
4. Slave (Session Demo)

Live At The Royal Festival Hall, London, February 5th 1972

5. Susie (Dramas)
6. Salvation
7. Mellow
8. Amy
9. Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters
10. Honky Cat
11. Rocket Man (It’s Think It’s Going To Be A Long, Long Time
12. Hercules

Pre-order HERE, the set will be released on March 23, 2023.

Published by Larry Fire

I write an eclectic pop culture blog called THE FIRE WIRE that features articles about books, comics, music, movies, television, gadgets, posters, toys & more!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: