Tag Archives: John Carpenter

Acclaimed Director, John Carpenter Is Writing A Joker Comic For DC

Today DC announced that acclaimed director, screenwriter and producer John Carpenter and Anthony Burch, writer of the hit video games Borderlands 2 and League of Legends, will make their DC Universe debut in a one-shot comic as part of the publisher’s “Year of the Villain” event in The Joker: Year of The Villain #1, on sale October 9.

Now a human-alien hybrid, Lex Luthor has made his appeal to the world, asking its citizens to embrace doom and give in once and for all to evil, humanity’s true nature. In exchange, he will grant them the tools to ascend to their ultimate selves. While some DC villains (and heroes) are willing to hear what “Apex Lex” has to offer, the Clown Prince of Crime isn’t going to wait around until Lex gets to him. This puts The Joker on a mission to get his swagger back in a world gone bad by out-badding everyone else, proving that the greatest evil is always the one that leaves them laughing.

“The Joker is the greatest villain in comics,” said Carpenter.  “I’m proud to be reunited with Anthony on this project.”

While this one-shot is the first time that Carpenter and Burch will be writing a DC story, they’re no strangers to collaborating on comic books that tell big, over-the-top and bombastic tales, having previously co-written BOOM! Studios’ Big Trouble in Little China: Old Man Jack miniseries.

”I’m excited beyond words to be writing for Gotham’s greatest villain,” said co-writer Burch. “I hope the Joker’s exploits make you laugh, shudder, and grow nauseous all at once.”

The Joker: Year of The Villain is a 40-page one-shot priced at $4.99 and debuts in comic book stores and online retailers on Wednesday, October 9.

Tagged , , , ,

MONDO To Release Halloween LP, Posters & Slip Mats On October 31, 2013

Tomorrow, (October 31, 2013) MONDO will release John Carpenter’s legendary soundtrack for Halloween as a double LP pressed on 180 Gram black vinyl (with randomly inserted Orange vinyl) cut at 45RPM for optimal sound quality. The track listing contained within, the most comprehensive there is, has never been released on vinyl before, and features brand new artwork by Phantom City Creative.

You can see photos of the vinyl packaging HERE.

In conjunction with the release, MONDO will release 2 new posters featuring artwork from the LP, as well as two different limited edition Slip Mats.

Please follow MONDO on Twitter for the on sale announcement. This LP, posters and slip mats will be available online at a random time on Thursday, October 31st.


Original music by John Carpenter. Packaging design by Phantom City Creative. 2XLP in deluxe gatefold jacket pressed on 180 gram black vinyl and randomly inserted orange vinyl. $30


Halloween poster by Phantom City Creative. 36″x24″ screen print. Hand numbered. Edition of 325. $45


Halloween poster by Phantom City Creative. 36″x24″ screen print. Hand numbered. Edition of 150. Printed by D&L Screenprinting. $70


“The Shape” Slip Mat by Phantom City Creative. $10

“Jack-O-Lantern” Slip Mat by Phantom City Creative. $10

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

MONDO Releasing Halloween Vinyl Soundtrack On Halloween


MONDO will release a 2x LP of the original motion-picture Halloween soundtrack by John Carpenter in a Deluxe Gatefold packaging with artwork by Phantom City Creative on Halloween.

The record is 180 Gram black vinyl, with randomly inserted orange vinyl, cut at 45RPM.

This is the first time that Carpenter’s Halloween has ever been released on vinyl in its full version and it will be the most comprehensive vinyl release of Halloween ever.

Halloween will go on sale at a random time on October 31, 2013 on MondoTees.com. Follow @MondoNews on Twitter for the On Sale announcement.

Track Listing:

1. Halloween Theme (2:21)
2. Halloween 1963 (3:11)
3. The Evil Is Gone! (4:08)
4. Halloween 1978 (2:50)
5. The Boogie Man Is Coming (:40)
6. The Shape (1:43)
7. The Hedge (1:35)
8. He Came Home (2:40)
9. Trick Or Treat (:39)
10. The Haunted House (1:43)
11. The Devil’s Eyes (1:39)
12. The Boogie Man Is Outside (1:27)
13. Damn You For Letting Him Go! (1:34)
14. Empty Street (:33)
15. See Anything You Like? (2:22)
16. Lock The Door (2:53)
17. He’s Here? (:55)
18. Light’s Out (2:49)
19. Cut It Out (1:19)
20. Tombstone (1:19)
21. The Shape Stalks Laurie (1:35)
22. Turn Around (:33)
23. Unlock The Door (2:09)
24. The Hanger (3:04)
25. Call The Police (:28)
26. Last Assault (1:34)
27. Was It The Boogie Man? (:32)
28. End Credits: Halloween Theme-Reprise (3:36)

1 2 3 5 6 7 8 10

Tagged , , , , , ,
%d bloggers like this: